IT&Software

WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

WhatsApp Messages Can Now Be Deleted An Hour After Posting

The ability to delete a message after sending it first rolled out during October 2017, and users had 7 minutes to delete a sent message. The new window is a quite oddly specific one hour, eight minutes, and sixteen seconds. The feature enabled users to delete messages that they had sent by mistake, however, they could only use this feature within seven minutes after the message was sent. It had also been exploited to let anyone, not just the sender, delete messages. WhatsApp then finds a message in the database having the same ID of the received revoke request and checks the date related information of the message saved in the database.

The feature is reportedly available for iOS update 2.18.31 on AppStore. This makes the feature to delete message restricted to the official limit and doesn't allow any modded versions to extend the limit through an unofficial means.

More news: Joe Thomas: Ego caused Richard Sherman to get 'absolutely crushed' on contract
More news: Honor 7C debuts with an 18:9 display, dual rear cameras
More news: Sensex up over 250 points, Nifty above 10300-mark

WhatsApp's competitor Telegram gives users 48 hours to delete a message and save themselves from any embarrassment before anyone sees their message.

WhatsApp is silently a adding a new "Block Revoke request" feature to stop misuse of the Delete for Everyone option. There's no explanation for why the time limit has expanded so dramatically, so it looks like WhatsApp doesn't think this is a big enough feature to get singled out. Starting a secret conversation ensures that the only people with access to the messages are those involved in the discussion; Facebook and any third-parties will not screen the conversation for any reason.